Help me choose between these two DSLRs

Created by Jayross on March 15, 2012, 6:27 p.m.
  • Hey Tested crew, as some of you may know, I have been in the market for an entry-level DSLR. My budget is sub-$600 so that basically eliminates all but the lowest end models.  

I have two cameras in mind: 

Canon EOS Rebel T3:

Or 

Nikon D3100: 

I'm not sure how accurate this site is, but it seems to do a good comparison of the bullet-point features:  
     http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-T3-vs-Nikon_D3100 

I am leaning towards the Nikon, as I see very little reasons why the Canon is better. 

Now, am I missing any thing? I am very new at this so please chime in if you have anything to add :)  

Thanks, 

Jayross

• Look them both up on http://www.dpreview.com/  That web site is absolute ridiculous in how extensively they test cameras. 

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond3100/ 
    http://www.dpreview.com/previews/canoneos1100D/ 
    They also have a side-by-side comparison tool that's available under the Buying Guide. 

That said, I'm a pretty big Nikon supporter and would go with the D3100.  Not to say the Canon's bad in the slightest, they're both excellent.
  • At this point, you can't go wrong with either camera. Canon and Nikon are pretty well neck-and-neck in terms of camera features and build quality. I'm a Canon person, but I'd have to say Nikon unless if you can get your hands on a cheap Txi (x being 1 or 2).
  • Yeah, thanks for the input, looks like I'll go Nikon.

Excited :)