if I wanted to make a youtube video (720p?), what would it require of me?

Created by super2j on Sept. 16, 2013, 12:56 p.m.
  • I am a poor poor student and I had an idea for a funny video I would like to try making. Unfortunately I have a limiting factor, the lack of a video camera. The only two cameras in the house are the Canon power shot Sx120ls and the nikon coolpix L12. Outside of that, there is a nexus 4, and a galaxy nexus. So very very slim pickings (I think). What I want is to get a general sense of what I should be looking for in a camera if I ever go looking for a camera or see one on sale at a very low low price (since I only really want to try out this one project).

To help you out, all I am going to do is have a tight shot of the actor's face (me or a friend) followed by a super slow zoom and maybe one wide shot of the surroundings. No real action here.

This is a long shot but any good apps to help with my problem (i will edit on a computer).

• Disclaimer, I haven't shot anything beyond experimenting with streaming video games, (Well, a card game, SolForge), so I am not an expert by any means when it comes to video. But I have some questions.

You described three shots, the second one as a zoom. How long of a zoom are you wanting to do? And is it a distant shot zooming into something normal sized, like a person's face? Or is it from a normal size to extreme close up, like an eyeball?

How are you recording audio? This is a separate expense. Or are you planning on recording audio from the default camera mic? (I wouldn't suggest that, in general.)

What kinds of things are you hoping to get out of the camera after you're done with the video? Regular everyday photography? Or play around with more video? Why not a camcorder?

Is your budget more in the $300 range? $200? Or lower.