Quantcast

Your Google Account Will

By Norman Chan

Pass on your account after you stop using it.

Yesterday, Google announced an Inactive Account Manager feature for its services, which lets you automatically delete or pass on your Google account data to a contact after you've stopped using it for whatever reason. The idea is that if something ever happens to you and you stop accessing your Google account for a predetermined timeout period, Google would send a notice to friends and family that you're no longer using your account and give them access to your files. Note that your account wouldn't actually get merged with another one, so purchases and media licences wouldn't be transferred--only data like email, Drive files, and contacts.