Quantcast

8800GTS SLI or GTX260 single?

Created by Aus_azn on March 15, 2012, 7:16 p.m.
  • OK, I'm a noob when it comes to using SLI in my machine, so I'll ask you blokes.

A friend of mine recently offloaded 2 EVGA 8800 GTS cards to me for the grand price of free. I currently have an Asus GTX 260-216that came stock in my machine.

I've been reading things about using a card as a "PhysX card", but I don't really know the appreciable benefit.

What offers the better performance, and how should I set this up? Should I SLI the two 8800s and drop the GTX? Should I just keep the GTX? Add on one of the 8800s as a PhysX card? I have extra power on my PSU, that's no problem. I don't plan on doing a GPU update until DX12 hits (I know Windows 8 is getting 11.1; I'm waiting for a game-changer), whenever that ends up being. The circumstances were unusual and unforeseen, so I might as well make the best of it.

If it helps, here are my specs:

Asus Rampage II Extreme
    Genuine Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (soon to be Windows 8 Professional 64-bit)
    Genuine Intel Core i7-920 "Bloomfield" SLBEJ OC @ 2.93GHz
    9GB DDR3 SDRAM
    1TB 7200RPM HDD
    NVidia GTX260 @ 896MB
    1920x1080, 1600x900 dual monitor setup
    SoundMAX Integrated Digital 7.1 High Definition Audio

Pretty much the only thing I'm certain about is that I can't SLI the GTX260 and 8800 together.

EDIT: Was looking at new cards, when did they stop drawing pretty pictures on top? :(

• A dedicated PhysX card consume too much power and is too much of a hassle to worth it.

A 8800GT SLI is a little bit more powerful than a single 260, but again consume too much power and you will get compatibility issues and micro stuttering.

Stick with the 260, and you really should thinking about upgrading it.

• Stick with the 260 and seriously thing about upgrading to a current GPU. The GTX560 Ti is like $130 and much better.

• Stay with your 260 dude, maybe try sell those cards and get a little cash munay!