Replicator Motors not moving

Created by deisterhold on June 19, 2015, 3:57 p.m.
  • A while back I was moving around my Makerbot and once when I was plugging it in I accidentally insert the power plug the wrong way. I believe I may have momentarily provided reverse voltage to my printer; after realizing what I did I immediately unplugged it and corrected the issue. My printer will turn on and everything seems to function except for the stepper motors will not move. I think all of the stepper motor drivers may have been damaged. The led on the motor drivers will light up, but I know that providing reverse voltage to an led won't really hurt it while doing that to the driver can/will break it. Any help is appreciated.

• Is this an R1 or R2? I don't know anything about the R1. I'll take a shot at this - but I am no expert.

It does sound bad, but it also sounds strange. I am not really sure what you mean by "drivers" as that is software to me. If you mean controllers, I guess they could be damaged, but on my R2 is doesn't seem power goes to them unless the board is powered up. And that won't happen if the voltage is reversed (I could very well be wrong about this - I would have to look more closely at the power distribution). And mine have no LEDs.

Check the wiring first - maybe the move caused the problem and jostled a plug lose. Be sure the power plug is fully inserted into the bot. If there is a fuse some place, check it. I would also physically move the stage and belts just to move the motors and get them away from the limiters. If you have a diagnostic option, check it. Try to home the stage. When all else fails, contact MakerBot. They may have a fix. Also check you tube.