Quantcast

Canon 7D or 5D Mk. II?

Created by thattomjohnson on Sept. 25, 2012, 8:12 a.m.
  • So my Canon 50D is now permanently out of commission and I'm now back in the market for a new DSLR. I'm torn between the 7D and the 5D Mk. II, as the Mk. III is far out of my price range, and the 6D doesn't interest me. I'm a photojournalism student, so I need to figure out which to buy pretty fast as being without a camera for too long is problematic. I've used a 7D for a while and adore it, but there's something really appealing about the full-frame 5D Mk. II, even though it's autofocus system is ancient and it has a slower burst rate.

Any advice or input would be greatly appreciated.

• @thattomjohnson: It's really about whether you want something for fast action, or full-frame. They're both equally good cameras within their market segment, and you need to decide what it is that you want to use it for.

• @thattomjohnson: personally, I'd be all over that full-frame. I don't do sports or racing or any sort of photography like that, so FPS doesn't matter, and I focus manually. While more focus (and xfocus) points would be nice, I'd certainly appreciate the larger frame moreso.

• Full frame is so much better in every way. As a photography student myself, I've extensively used the XT, XTi, XS, XSi, T1i, T2i, T3i, 40d, 50d, 60d, 7d, 5d Mark ii, Nikon D40, D80, D90, D300, D3.

Point is I've used a lot of cameras, although some of them are quite old. By far my favorite one out of the bunch was the 5d Mark ii.

Full frame makes such a difference - furthermore, the colors are better and the lowlight is better. But I have to hand it to the 7d in terms of focusing speed and body build. The 7d's body molds to your hands and makes your job faster and easier.

But still - I can't let go of my baby. Now, whenever I shoot weddings - I use my 5d Mark ii all the time usually with a 50mm 1.4 or 35mm 1.4. I hardly use the 24-70.

• @thattomjohnson: Did you ever decide?